Recent Comments

Jayasuriya to bat as deputy in SL ministry

SanathJayasuriya-EP-EMaster blaster Sanath Jayasuriya was on Wednesday inducted into the Maithripala Sirisena government as a Deputy Minister along with Thilanga Sumathipala, Eric Weerawardsne and Wijaya Dahanayake.

Jayasuriya had been Deputy Minister of Posts in the earlier government headed by Mahinda Rajapaksa. He had entered parliament from his native district of Matara in 2010, getting more than 74, 000 preferential votes, the highest in the district.

The four new entrants into Sirisena’s  Council of Ministers, are all from his Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP). They replace four ministers from the SLFP who had quit earlier to join the rival Mahinda Rajapaksa faction in the party.

Sirisena, who is Chairman of the SLFP, is in the process of consolidating his position in the party vis-a-vis the still dominant Rajapaksa faction.

He needs the full backing of the SLFP not only to pass the 20 th Constitutional Amendment embodying the much awaited electoral reforms, but also to win the parliamentary elections to be held by September.

To add to this, Sirisena is faced with a No Confidence Motion against his Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe signed by 122 of the 225 members of parliament, chiefly from the SLFP.

If the No Trust Motion against the PM is carried (it needs only a simple majority), the PM and his Council of Ministers will have to resign. Sirisena will, however, remain President as he had been directly elected by the people for six years on January 8 this year.

Former prez Kalam To Visit Sri Lanka

Colombo: Former Indian President A P J Abdul Kalam will be the Chief Guest at a Sri Lankan government-organised conference on issues relating to power and energy to be held here on June 26 and 27. The spokesperson of the Lankan Foreign Ministry, Mahishini Colonne, said on Wednesday, that Kalam had accepted Minister of Power and Energy, Champika Ranwakka’s invitation in New Delhi to attend the conclave as the Chief Guest.

The New Indian Express

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>