Recent Comments

    Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena unanimously elected as Speaker of ninth Parliament

    mahinda-yapaMatara District Parliamentarian Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena unanimously elected as the Speaker of the ninth Parliament.

    Leader of the House Dinesh Gunawardena proposed the name while General Secretary of the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) Ranjith Madduma Bandara seconded the name.

    Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena first entered parliament in 1983 as the Hakmana UNP MP and has been active in politics for more than 30 years.

    Kegalle District SLPP Parliamentarian Ranjith Siyambalapitiya unanimously elected as the Deputy Speaker while Jaffna District Parliamentarian Angajan Ramanathan unanimously elected as the Deputy Chairperson of Committees.

    Samagi Jana Balavegaya (SJB) leader Sajith Premadasa recognized by the Speaker as the Opposition Leader.

    Meanwhile, the Government’s Policy Statement as provided by Article 33(2) of the Constitution will be presented by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa today at 3.00 p.m.

    Courtesy – LBO

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>